Nordsec 2020

The 25th Nordic Conference on Secure IT Systems
November 23-25

Call for Papers

NordSec is an annual research conference series that has been running since 1996. The NordSec conferences address a broad range of topics on IT security. The events bring together security researchers from the Nordic countries, Northern Europe, and beyond. In addition to being venue for academic publishing, NordSec is an important meeting place for university faculty, students, and industry experts from the region.

Background, aim and scope

NordSec addresses a broad range of topics within IT security with the aim of bringing together computer security researchers and encouraging interaction between academia and industry. In addition to regular research paper submissions, we invite participants to present their current ideas and work-in-progress in a poster session.

Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Access control and security models
  • AI for security
  • Applied cryptography
  • Blockchains
  • Cloud security
  • Cryptographic protocols
  • Cyber crime, warfare, and forensics
  • Economic, legal, and social aspects of security
  • Formal analysis
  • Hardware and embedded security
  • Information-flow security
  • Intrusion detection and mitigation
  • Language-based security
  • Mobile and Internet of Things security
  • Privacy and anonymity
  • Risk assessment
  • Security and machine learning
  • Security education and training
  • Security management and audit
  • Security metrics
  • Security usability
  • Social engineering and phishing
  • Software security and malware
  • Threat Modelling
  • Trust and identity management
  • Trusted computing
  • Vulnerability testing
  • Web application security

Important dates (tentative)

Submissions due: 2020-08-25
Notification of acceptance: 2020-09-30
Poster abstract submission deadline 2020-10-13
Camera ready copy 2020-10-15
Poster notification 2020-10-23
Early registration deadline 2020-10-23


Organizing committee

General chair

Mikael Asplund

Program chairs

Simin Nadjm-Tehrani
Mikael Asplund

Technical program committee


Venue and Travel


The conference is held at the main Campus (Campus Valla) of Linköping University, Sweden at the Department of Computer and Information Science (IDA).

Getting to Linköping

We list a fairly complete set of travel options below.

By train

Linköping is well-connected by train, booking is done through the main train operator SJ

  • From Stockholm Arlanda Airport: Takes from 2h15min to 2h45min with either direct train or Arlanda Express + high speed train
  • From Stockholm city: 1.5h with high speed train
  • From Copenhagen: 3.5h with high speed train

By flight

By car

Linköping is located along the E4 highway. Estimated travel times from:

  • Norrköping: 40min
  • Stockholm: 2h
  • Gothenburg: 3h
  • Copenhagen: 5h

Getting around in Linköping

To travel to and from the airport we recommend taking a taxi. The local buses are not so convinient for this purpose. Check the taxameter price beforehand, there is not fixed rate, a reasonable price is around 350SEK for 10km (prices vary depending on time of day). List of taxi companies:

  • Taxibil i Östergötland, +46 13 146000, web
  • Taxikurir Linköping, +46 13 150000, web
  • Linköping Taxi, +46 13 101010, web

Tourist information

Linköping and the surrounding area offer many possibilities for tourism. For more information on things to see and do, the tourist information for Linköping is a good start.

Previous editions

  • Nordsec 2019, Aalborg, Denmark, LNCS 11875, editors Aslan Askarov, René Rydhof Hansen and Willard Rafnsson
  • NordSec 2018, Oslo, Norway, LNCS 11252, editor Nils Gruschka, general chair Audun Jøsang
  • NordSec 2017, Tartu, Estonia) LNCS 10674, editors Helger Lipmaa, Katerina Mitrokotsa and Raimundas Matulevičius
  • NordSec 2016, Oulu, Finland, LNCS 1014, editors Juha Röning and Billy Brumley
  • NordSec 2015, Stockholm, Sweden, LNCS 9417, editors Sonja Buchegger and Mads Dam
  • NordSec 2014, Tromsø, Norway, LNCS 8788, editors Karin Bernsmed and Simone Fischer-Hübner

All previous conferences can be found here